I spent today looking over some of the stuff I used to like in the past. For example, during my San Antonio days I hung out with one Stephen Chao, who was an activist and introduced me to the world of hippy liberals. We went to spoken word poetry (slam poetry (rap for suburban people)) events and he was working on a few himself. I remembered a lot were funny, smart, if maybe a little too preachy. So much passion and heart. We were surrounded by people who worried about recycling, equality, Dafur. You know, things you’d see on a college campus.

A friend forwarded this spoken word artist to me, and though I’m not as big as a fan as I used to be, I think the message overall is good in a feminist kind of way.

http://www.thefrisky.com/post/246-katie-makkais-pretty-spoken-word-performance-is-pretty-awesome/

Published in: on February 17, 2011 at 4:24 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jasminedao.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/3009/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

