I love my friends. And I mean honest, whole-hearted love, not like when I say ‘I love oatmeal’. I love you all more than oatmeal.
Did you know that studies show that fiber does not confer a reduced risk of colo-rectal cancer? Whereas my friends do, and that’s another reason to love them.

But for people who don’t have my particular set of friends, here is an oatmeal recipe to console you.

Pumpkin Pie Baked Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats [not quick cooking]
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • pinch salt
  • cooking spray
  • brown sugar

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 5 cup baking dish or the equivalent of smaller dishes.. I personally used two 1/2 quart baking dishes (1/2 quart=2 cups… had to look that up!) and one 1 cup baking dish, so my cooking time will be based on that number. In a mixing bowl, combine oats, pumpkin, milk, egg, pumpkin pie spice, vanilla, and salt. Stir together and then spoon into baking dishes. Bake for 15 minutes, remove and sprinkle with brown sugar (I used about 1 tablespoon–unpacked–per baking dish. Then turn oven up to 400 degrees and bake for 10-15 minutes or until set in the center. Invite me over. Serve immediately upon my arrival.

Published in: on October 4, 2010 at 4:48 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jasminedao.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/2548/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hurray! Finally a substitute for human interaction. Pumpkin Pie Abomination Oatmeal, here I come.

    • An abdominal abomination indeed.
      I feel I could make something funnier with that, but I can’t.


Leave a Reply

