Whenever I have a bad day or some problem pops up, I try to avoid saying “well at least I’m not like (insert more unfortunate person here).” It just seems unfair and condescending and mean. Then that person will say “at least I’m not …” and it’ll all go down to this one poor sap who has no one who has it worse, and what do they do? They become a garbage dump for our self-pity.

I think Toni Morrison wrote it best in the Bluest Eye– “Her simplicity decorated us, her guilt sanctified us, her pain made us glow with health.”

Note that I said I try to avoid this.  Because honestly, a part of me is thinking “at least I’m not the CEO of BP right now.”

 Whatever I do, at least I didn’t cause the worst environmental disaster in history. So I’m a hypocrite.  Oh well.

Published in: on June 17, 2010 at 1:56 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jasminedao.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/2127/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

