Today Susha and I were talking about GAS vs GBS, which brought to my mind an old memory.

Did you know farting can harm your patients? Back in San Antone, from whence I began my medical training in earnest, my friends found a case report on an anesthesiologist who infected patients in the operating room with Group A Strep. I thought they were lying but they took me to the library and showed me. Sure enough.  It’s also found on the CDC. Read the part under Group A strep if you don’t believe.

http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/eid/vol7no2/sherertz.htm#16

So people, please please please wear underwear (multiple layers of underwear if you’re shy like me!) under your scrubs, and try to avoid passing gas on any immunecompromised patients or those with open wounds. This has been a public statement annoucement.

Published in: on April 30, 2010 at 1:22 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jasminedao.wordpress.com/2010/04/30/1813/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

